James Mastro
with Bedsit Poets, Karyn Kuhl
The Bowery Electric
Wed February 21 @ 6:30 PM (Doors: )
21 and up
$15.00 Buy Tickets


James Mastro

James Mastro has been a highly-regarded songwriter and guitarist since his teen years in CBGB stalwarts The Richard Lloyd Group, playing guitar on the Elektra Records release Alchemy. Mastro is a founder (along with singer Richard Barone) of The Bongos, a radio and MTV staple who released three lauded records – Nuts & Bolts (JEM), Numbers With Wings (RCA/re-released October, 2023), and Beat Hotel (RCA). In 1992 he moved to center stage as frontman for Americana fave The Health & Happiness Show, releasing three critically acclaimed albums: TonicInstant Living (Bar-None), and Sad and Sexy (Cropduster). The band spent the next 10 years touring incessantly, opening for WilcoJohnny CashGolden SmogBarenaked LadiesBeat FarmersThe BlastersKirsty MacColl, and served as the backing band for Texas troubadour Butch Hancock. In 2001 he joined ranks with Mott the Hoople's legendary singer Ian Hunter and has served as his left-hand man ever since, touring and playing on Hunter's last six albums: RantShrunken HeadsMan OverboardLive in the UKWhen I'm President, and Defiance Pt. 1. In between his recording work with Hunter, he toured as a guitarist with Mott the Hoops '74Patti SmithJohn CaleJudy CollinsAlejandro EscovedoGarland JeffreysThe Jayhawks, and Southside Johnny. His studio and session work is extensive, and includes playing guitar on the late, great Phoebe Snow's Natural Wonder and Marti Jones's Match Game. Production credits include Steve Wynn's "The Devil's Not That Kind," Jill Sobule's "Just A Little Lovin'," Amy Speace's Songs for Bright Street and The Killer In Me, and Tiny LightsThe Smaller the Grape, the Sweeter the Wine. Mastro has just produced Ian Hunter doing a version of Jesse Malin's song "Dead On," for an upcoming benefit record to help raise funds to aid Malin, who is suffering a serious health issue. Mastro's debut solo album, Dawn of a New Error, is due out February 21, 2024 via MPress Records. For more information, visit jamesmastro.net.

Bedsit Poets

Bedsit Poets make their long-awaited return after over a decade with their third album, All Roads Lead Me Back. The songwriting partnership of Amanda Thorpe and Edward Rogers has crafted a memorable album that retains the signature "heartaches and harmonies" that Mojo Magazine aptly described. Infused with elements of electronica and lounge vibes, it blends seamlessly with English folk and the late seventies NYC scene, proving that the past can be reinvigorated with a fresh twist. Edward Rogers and Amanda Thorpe will be joined by a full band for this show including their producer Don Piper (guitar), Bob Perry (guitar) and Konrad Meissner (drums).

Previous Bedsit Poets releases, ‘The Summer That Changed’ and ‘Notel RendezVous’ received high
praise, with the former being described by MOJO Magazine as “Heartaches & harmonies from a duo
that knows their jingle from their jangle”.
As the twists and turns of life took Amanda back to Europe; both continued their musical projects,
Amanda Thorpe as a solo artist, music therapist and NY Bushwick Book Club: London producer, and
Edward Rogers, a solo artist, DJ at WFMU’s Rock ‘n’ Soul Radio and half of the duo, Rogers & Butler. 
Edward and Amanda continued to exchange lyrics and musical ideas, and in 2020 reunited to write new
songs. After two years of transatlantic work, they came together in NYC to record with their long-time
producer, Don Piper and a cast of stellar musicians resulting in a brand-new album, “All Roads Lead Me
Back” which may be the Bedsit Poets best work to date.
Bedsit Poets’ band for “All Roads Lead Me Back” includes a stellar cast of other prolific players known
to be among the best in show, including James Mastro on guitar (Ian Hunter, The Bongos, John
Cale), Sal Maida on bass (Roxy Music, Sparks) and Konrad Meissner on Drums (Silos, Graham
Parker) and the record also includes superb guest parts from Joe McGinty (Psychedelic Furs, Ronnie
Spector), Tony Scherr (Bill Frisell, Sex Mob, Laurie Anderson), Mac Randall and Yair Schleider. The
result is an utterly outstanding album of lush tracks to be cherished in record

Karyn Kuhl

Karyn Kuhl first received national acclaim for her early bands Gut Bank and Sexpod, growing out of the vibrant Hoboken music scene and the legendary club Maxwell's. (“Gut Bank’s The Dark Ages is one exceptional debut album.” —Robert Palmer, New York Times) These days, she performs both as a solo act and leading Karyn Kuhl & The Gang. In addition to Kuhl’s long-time rhythm section of drummer Jonpaul Pantozzi and bassist Lou Ciarlo, the band now includes guitarist/producer Charlie Nieland (Debbie Harry, Rufus Wainright). Kuhl’s music is available on all streaming platforms and has been used in several films & series under Karyn Kuhl & Karyn Kuhl Band. KK & The Gang are looking forward to the release of their retro and modern, tough and glossy new single  “No Traces” produced by Charlie Nieland.